Shailene Woodley’s Scoliosis Secret

December 12, 2008

shailene-woodley-scoliosis-secret-thumb-440x775

Secret Life of an American Teenager star Shailene Woodley was diagnosed with scoliosis [A severe curvation of the spine] at age 15. She told Us Weekly:

‘It was like wearing a tacky, disgusting, plastic corset for 18 hours a day. In the beginning, it was hard to eat or breathe. And I had to give up cross country running. But I needed to have it on to realign my spine.

Why didn’t viewers ever see it on screen? ‘I took it off for filming. My character, Amy, is pregnant, and I couldn’t fit a prosthetic belly over the brace. But usually it wasn’t for more than five or sex hours at a stretch, more than doable.’

Leave a Reply

