Debby Ryan Dreams of Christmas in Keller

December 19, 2008

debby-ryan-holiday-plans

The Suite Life on Deck sweetheart Debby Ryan is ready for the holidays and is even more excited about going back to Texas to celebrate.

The 15-year-old actress dished to JJJ on her favorite time of year:

On her plans for the holidays: Every year is slightly different, but it usually involves having people over. Some years we all feast or play in the snow, or go caroling or watch a movie. This year, we plan to do our usual Christmas traditions and somehow fit in moving our furniture and everything from our home in Texas to our new house in California!

On her holiday destination: I love the way I spend the holidays. It’s a warm combination of my family, friends, familiar houses and my home and I am so thankful for it!

On where she’ll be celebrating: At home in Keller, TX and visiting a lot of extended family in San Antonio, TX.

On her favorite holiday movie: We have watched either Miracle on 34th Street or The Little Drummer Boy every year and a lot of times we go out to see a new one together and with friends.

(Click inside to read more about Debby’s holiday plans)

On family traditions: We always try to do something to benefit less fortunate kids on Christmas like Operation Christmas Child, Teddy Bear Drives, and Angel Tree. At home, Chris [my brother] and my parents and I usually open a present or two, watch a movie, then drive around the neighborhood to look at the lights while eating hot cookies and singing Christmas songs. On Christmas Eve at my grandma and grandpa’s house, my Aunt takes me shopping, we go to Christmas service and then we each get to open a present. My mom always makes monkey bread shaped like a tree with red-hots as ornaments and we all go in to open the rest of the presents. The date isn’t that important. Depending on if it snows and who is home, we like having kids hang out in the yard, building snowmen, setting up forts and snowball fighting, and going caroling.

On her favorite holiday treat: I always look forward to my grandpa Skip’s special cranberry relish. Ooh! And on Christmas Day, my grandma makes AMAZING stuffing that we usually end up eating in multiple dishes a day for the next two weeks!

On her favorite decorations: We have several boxes full decorations so I have no idea what my favorite is! Ohkay, it’s probably our tree. We usually start to put it up in November and it’s 10 feet tall and has at least 100 ornaments! They coolest part is that as we unpack them we see ornaments celebrating our first winters, cool places we’ve been, gifts from each other. Putting our tree up is a fun event, we reminisce, tell stories and we always learn something new about each other or our past.

On her favorite holiday memories: My favorite holiday memory is probably from our last year in Germany. My parents took my brother and I to the long, fun hill next to our house there and we sledded down and met them at the bottom. Afterwards, when we opened the door to our house to go inside and warm up, our dog got out and my brother and I chased her all around our backyard through the waist high snow. When we caught up to her, she was shivering so we all went inside to defrost and drank hot chocolate around the fire. It was like a movie.

On what she wants for Christmas: I honestly can’t think of anything! I have everything I’ve wanted and worked for and dreamed of. Plus, I get to spend the holidays with my family and close friends! Maybe a new yo-yo.

On the best gift she’s ever received: When we lived in Germany, my brother and I begged and begged for a puppy, promising to feed and walk her ourselves, but we couldn’t afford one. They finally took us one day to pick out puppies and this frisky, tiny thing ran right up to my brother and I. She chose us and we named her Daisy, after my grandma’s favorite flower. Well, I found out that it was my grandparents that bought the Daisy for us!! It was so amazing of them and she is definitely the best gift they could’ve gotten us!

Leave a Reply

